[Week12_Final] User Testing at PlayTech

IMG_0460

I participated in Play Tech with my Habit-building machine prototype for user testing with children. Although It seemed more likely a showcase because my prototype is not a final version of the product, It was so valuable opportunity to meet with my actual targets, young children and their parents to listen their opinions and also for building up my presentation skill.

Lots of kids approached to my little machine and showed interests pushing the button on the bracelet. I let some children especially in the scope of my target ages 8-10 years old experience the prototype.

 

 

IMG_0490

 

One thing that I particularly noticed, kids really like pushing a button!

After presenting my projects and user testing, I asked some questions to seek advices and comment for the project because my project is not yet completely done and need to develop. I asked children about their favorite colors, their feeling when using the device, what kinds of habits they need to build in daily lives, and so on. As a result, I could get some useful advices and comments from some of them.

BookScanCenter_2

 

It was very interesting that I both looked into parents’ views and children’s thoughts about the project.

Specifically, I narrowed down some practical advices that I gathered by post-its for developing the process.

 

 

Children’s advices

1) Give users more examples of good habits.

2) Make a little celebration (sound or visual) happen along with the reward when a user completes the mission (the LEDs of smiley face)!

3) Change rewards to healthier one other than chocolates because chocolates looks little bit unhealthy for children. (Use a different treat)

4) Track steps or time how long it takes when building a habit. -> having a competition with friends.

 

 Parents’ advices

1) Kids might push the button randomly to get chocolates.. To control them, what if parents can receive messages or alerts whenever children push the button?

2) What if the website shows some information related to children habits?

 

Advices from DT students

1) Make the container stronger by using 3D printing or strong materials.

2) It doesn’t have to be bluetooth. If you use bluetooth, you need two microcontrollers (Arduino boards).

 

Based on this user testing, I’ll develop my project!

[Week12_Final] User Testing at PlayTech

Leave a Reply

